Luke David Kellett
Isolation: Portraits of Newcastle During COVID-19

Isolation: Portraits of Newcastle During COVID-19 is a photographic typology documenting regional NSW, Australia during lock down between March and July 2020. All shot on a Linhof Master Technika with @Kodakprofessional portra 400 film.

About

I am a photographer born in Yorkshire, England. Mesmerized by musicians and performers, I began taking photos in early 2000’s. At the beginning of my career I was fortunate to be employed by UK record labels, Atlantic and Sony, and commissioned to produce album art and press shots for artists in London. At the same time, I assisted London fashion photographer George Ktistakis and was an apprentice at London darkroom Rapid Eye.
In 2008 I left the UK to travel to Australia, I arrived not knowing anyone. As luck would have it I met an incredible community of artists, musicians and performers. This chance encounter led to my first major body of photographic work titled “This City Speaks To Me”. For three years I documented the lives of those that inspired me in Melbourne, taking portraits in a makeshift studio with a large format camera and some of the last Polaroid Type 55 film I could find. The State Library of Victoria recognized the project as a prominent documentation of sub-cultures within Melbourne’s underground, they purchased the entire body of work in 2011 the collection of work now lives in their archives.
During my time in Melbourne I also met my wife, Sarah Cook. After the project finished we relocated back to her home town of Newcastle to run creative agency, Headjam. We work on multidisciplinary projects with our business partner, Mike Preston, and our growing team of 15 creatives who encompass all types of wonderful abilities.
I continue to take photographs for select projects alongside my work running Headjam; and remain forever fascinated by humans of all walks of life.
Menu

Luke David Kellett
Isolation: Portraits von Newcastle während COVID-19

„Isolation: Porträts aus Newcastle während COVID-19“ ist eine fotografische Typologie, die Menschen in ihren Häusern in Australien (Regional NSW) während des Lock Down zwischen März und Juli 2020 dokumentiert. Alle Aufnahmen wurden mit einer Linhof Master Technika auf Kodakprofessional Portrait 400-Film gemacht.

Über mich

Ich bin ein in Yorkshire, England geborener Fotograf. Fasziniert von Musikern und Darstellern begann ich Anfang der 2000er Jahre mit dem Fotografieren. Zu Beginn meiner Karriere hatte ich das Glück, bei den britischen Plattenlabels Atlantic und Sony angestellt zu sein, und wurde beauftragt, Albumcover und Presseaufnahmen für Künstler in London zu produzieren. Gleichzeitig assistierte ich dem Londoner Modefotografen George Ktistakis und war Lehrling in der Londoner Dunkelkammer Rapid Eye.
2008 verließ ich Großbritannien, um nach Australien zu reisen. Dort kannte ich niemanden. Glücklicherweise traf ich eine unglaubliche Gemeinschaft von Künstlern, Musikern und Darstellern. Diese Begegnungen führten zu meiner ersten großen fotografischen Arbeit mit dem Titel „Diese Stadt spricht zu mir“. Drei Jahre lang dokumentierte ich das Leben derer, die mich in Melbourne inspirierten. Ich machte Porträts in einem provisorischen Studio mit einer Großformatkamera und einigen der letzten Polaroid Typ 55-Filme, die ich finden konnte. Die State Library of Victoria erkannte das Projekt als herausragende Dokumentation von Subkulturen in Melbournes Untergrund an. 2011 kauften sie das gesamte Werk.
Während meiner Zeit in Melbourne traf ich auch meine Frau Sarah Cook. Nach Abschluss des Projekts zogen wir in ihre Heimatstadt Newcastle, um die Kreativagentur Headjam zu leiten. Neben meiner Arbeit mit Headjam fotografiere ich für ausgewählte Projekte. Ich werde immer fasziniert von Menschen aller Lebensbereiche bleiben.
Menü